State of Texas County of Bexar City of San Antonio



Meeting Minutes Public Comment Session

City Hall Complex San Antonio, Texas 78205

2021 – 2023 Council Members

Mayor Ron Nirenberg Mario Bravo, Dist. 1 | Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Dist. 2 Phyllis Viagran, Dist. 3 | Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia, Dist. 4 Teri Castillo, Dist. 5 | Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6 Manny Pelaez, Dist. 8 | John Courage, Dist. 9 Clayton Perry, Dist. 10

Wednesday, February 15, 20235:00 PMMunicipal Plaza Building

The City Council convened a regular meeting in the Norma S. Rodriguez Council Chamber in the Municipal Plaza Building beginning at 5:01 PM. City Clerk Debbie Racca-Sittre took the Roll Call noting a quorum with the following Council Members present:

PRESENT: 9 – Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Castillo, Cabello Havrda, Courage, Perry

ABSENT: 1 - Pelaez

PUBLIC COMMENT

1. Public Comment is your opportunity to address your City of San Antonio elected officials directly about issues that are important to you and your community. To sign up to speak visit www.saspeakup.com. Click on meetings and events and select the meeting you'd like to participate in. Sign up to speak or submit a written comment. Members of the public are given up to three minutes to speak, and groups are given up to nine minutes.

Kristin Foster, resident of City Council District 10, expressed concern for the rise of crime and advocated for social services to help take the burden off of police. She commented that a relative had been shot by a person who was released and had not yet been caught. She requested more

police protection.

Phil Sevilla, Paul Comeaux and George Murphey spoke in opposition to the SA Justice Charter Amendment commenting that abortion was illegal in the State and also opposed the cite and release. Sevilla commented that the San Antonio Police Officer's Association also opposed the charter amendment.

Lacey supported legalization of marijuana and gay rights. She requested more follow through by police and more public restrooms in parks.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 5:21 PM.

Approved

Ron Nirenberg Mayor

Debbie Racca-Sittre City Clerk